LST help - First time grower

KitasCountryRoots

420 Member
Hey y'all! I have to start off by saying, this site is awesome!

I have 3 white widow girls(photo) that are 3 weeks old, and I'm not sure when to start LST. All input welcomed!!

Mutant
420-magazine-mobile936032519.jpg
420-magazine-mobile1275342250.jpg

Shortie
420-magazine-mobile157594458.jpg
420-magazine-mobile2109669106.jpg

Bigmama
420-magazine-mobile1152870083.jpg
420-magazine-mobile855862880.jpg

Hey y'all! I have to start off by saying, this site is awesome!

I have 3 white widow girls(photo) that are 3 weeks old, and I'm not sure when to start LST. All input welcomed!!

Mutant
420-magazine-mobile936032519.jpg
420-magazine-mobile1275342250.jpg

Shortie
420-magazine-mobile157594458.jpg
420-magazine-mobile2109669106.jpg

Bigmama
420-magazine-mobile1152870083.jpg
420-magazine-mobile855862880.jpg

I'm no expert on LST but I believe it can be started as early as you like depending what LST you are going for. I know growers who tie the plants main stem down almost flat from very early to promote the side branches to all grow upwards evenly but I know growers who wait a while until the plant has a good 5 or 6 internodes on the main stem, then they top or FIM them and begin to LST them outwards to promote many top colas and an even canopy. As I say I'm no expert but I believe the LST should be done on newer growth as it's more bendy/flexible and less likely to snap, the woody parts of the stem and branches don't like being bent much and can easily break. There's many much more experienced indoor growers than me on here so hopefully someone with more LST experience will chip in with some info soon. Hope this helps for now.

I have a 5ft tent and led lights, so i need them to stay under 3ft, at the least. Do you think I should bend first and top later?
Top first.

The results of the topping will give you much more to tie down.