Bad Advice

MickFoster

The title of this forum is Frequently Asked Questions - Growers helping each other learn. As I read through the threads on the different forums, it's amazing to me the amount of wrong and potential harmful advice that is given to people that need help. I have always known that the bad advice existed but a post on one of the threads that I read yesterday prompted me to vent a bit. The person grew in 50% coco and 50% perlite, he listed all the pertinent information needed to possibly diagnose his problem, and the advice he received from one of the so-called growers was to not feed the plants for at least 2 months and to let them completely dry out before watering again - this information would have killed his plants. I've been growing for many years but I don't claim to be an expert in every type of grow - if I don't have personal experience I don't give advice. For instance, I have never grown in soil - so when a question arises involving soil I don't respond. Even though I have read a lot about soil grows - I don't have the hands on experience to answer the question intelligently. I don't have an answer to this problem - perhaps we should be required to answer a questionnaire to determine our grow knowledge and have a rating based on that.

That's what the "report post" function is for. It allows you to explain your reason for reporting too!

There are a few mods here, they keep the forum as clean as they can but also reporting posts is a big help too.

Vlad:bongrip:

The Report Post icon is that little triangle with the exclamation sign in the middle at the bottom left edge of the posting box.