Calyxes swell.. but then seem to decrease in size.. normal?

hey everyone

listen, I've got a couple of questions and was hoping I had come to the right place to get the right answers to those questions.

I've got two plants right now. I never grow more than 2 plants per grow as I only grow for my personal consumption. I don't sell what I grow either.. again, I only grow for myself.

Anyhow, let me get to the point here. The two plants that I have going right now.. are doing absolutely great! Both plants are pretty much the same age.. maybe just a day or two apart.. and both began flowering pretty much on the same day.. with maybe a days difference between the two.

As of today, both plants are exactly 39 days into their flowering cycles. Meaning, they both showed sex (began flowering) 39 days ago as of today.

I've been growing for a good 3 or 4 years now and I'm no expert by no means.. but I like to think of myself as being an experienced grower.

Alright, here's my issue.. I noticed last week that the calyxes of one of the plants looked to be swollen with resin.. like they should be, right? Well, I checked on them this morning (like I do every morning) and I noticed that the one plant that had swollen calyxes.. I noticed that the calyxes seemed to have deflated.. its like they've shrank?? Anyhow, I just wanted to make sure this was normal?? I've never noticed this happening before on any of my past grows. With my past grows.. once the calyxes were done swelling up.. it seemed that they either stayed close to their swollen size.. or might even look a little deflated.. but not to the extent of what I seen this morning when I checked on my babies.

I guess my question is.. is once the calyxes begin to swell up.. shouldn't they stay swollen?? Or is it normal for them to decrease in size as the plant further matures into flowering?

Any help is greatly appreciated.