CFM and Can Fan Questions

mellowmama

Noob here. I have searched this and other forums, plus the internet in general, and still can't decide. I am interested in a Panasonic Whisperline In-Line Fan, thanks to a recommendation from another forum member. I am having trouble deciding between the 240 cfm and the 340 cfm. Price difference is just $5 on Amazon.

The most informative article I found on calculating needed cfm said:

8' x 8.5' x 7' = 476
exchange every 3 minutes = 476/3 = 159

add 5% per air-cooled light (1)
add 5% for co2 (maybe later)
add 20% for carbon filter
5 + 5 + 20 = 30%

159 x 1.30% = 206

By this calculation the 240 cfm should be sufficient. I will be venting this size room, but the room itself is not a true grow room; instead a turnkey 2 x 3 6 closet will be in the closed room, with the closet venting through an Odorsok and cooling a 600 watt hps. Just being extra cautious. I can't tell yet how severe the bends in the ductwork will be, but there will be some.

So, 240 or 340? Is there a negative to choosing too high on cfm?

Also, about can filters... I assume one chooses a model where the maximum cfm is close to the same cfm as the fan?

Anyone have any preferences for brands of can filters? Anyone have any experience with the Can-Lite?

Thanks for any and all help!

mellow

By your calculations a 240 cfm should be sufficient but border line being that you didnt factor length of pipe run or bends. I would go for the 340cfm fan.

Negatives of a higher cfm fan are only going to be noise and more electricity use (57watts compared to 98w). The 340 will be a little louder then the 240.

Go with the 340 and oversize the shit out of the filter, which equals less load on the fan.

I bought the 240cfm fan and a ( hydroponics 6 Inlet / Outlet carbon active de-odor Filter ) 650cfm filter. The filter manufacture I believe over rated the filter cfm because it loads down the fan quite a bit.