Does this look safe? - grow light

melloman82

Hello everyone :) Here is a couple picks of my grow light i just built at walmart for $35. It consistes of 6, 75 watt (actually only 20 though ;) 6500k cfl light bulbs ($11.92 per box of 3) and 8 little light socket connecters ranging from $1.27 all the way up to the y piece at the top which was $2.99 at the local hardware store. Im just wondering is this safe to plug into a standard wall outlet aslong as i use a power bar? Its 120 watts (but its just like 450 watts) Please feel free to bash it, if its not safe, i wanna know.
Light_23.jpg
Light_23.jpg
Light32.jpg
Light_23.jpg

Im sorry if this post isnt fomated properly as i am a noob :(

There are 2 possible issues. One is what is the Y connector rated for in terms of power? It should say on the side of it 1 amp or 15 amps etc. (this goes for all of the connectors not just the Y). With the Y being the base, it is most likely to be your failure point. The second thing to consider is the heat from the ballast. That is the base of each CFL bulb. They can and will become hot. With one or two bulbs it probably won't make a difference. However with 6 bulbs in such a small area it may become hot enough to melt the plastic base. It's hard to tell the quality of the product through a picture.

There are 2 possible issues. One is what is the Y connector rated for in terms of power? It should say on the side of it 1 amp or 15 amps etc. (this goes for all of the connectors not just the Y). With the Y being the base, it is most likely to be your failure point. The second thing to consider is the heat from the ballast. That is the base of each CFL bulb. They can and will become hot. With one or two bulbs it probably won't make a difference. However with 6 bulbs in such a small area it may become hot enough to melt the plastic base. It's hard to tell the quality of the product through a picture.