Medical Marijuana Answers: MMJ OK'd for Veterans

If you think for one minute that I am ecstatic about this you are correct! I was first introduced to "loco weed" in 1928 when I was selling newspapers in a "red-light" district. In 1950, I was again introduced to cannabis as medicine when I started studying for a Ph.D. in Pharmacology and Toxicology at Oregon Medical School. I have been studying and reviewing medical articles ever since.

When Oregon legalized Medical Marijuana in 1998 I was one of the first doctors to sign patients' applications for Medical Marijuana Permits. I had patients number 13 and 14, and within one year I had signed for about 900. The next doctor had 71 patients. I continued for 5 years and ended up with about 5000 patients. The next doctor had about 1000.

The Oregon Department of Human Services produced the law and 8 disparate medical conditions were listed. I didn't believe one medicine could be effective for such a wide variety of medical conditions... It wasn't until I started seeing Medical Marijuana patients that I continued to be surprised by patients' medical histories that Marijuana was effective, safe treatment for about 100 different diseases from scalp to toenail with new medical conditions showing up frequently.

As of now, July 2010, about 1,000,000 patients in 14 states have permits to use Marijuana. One of my biggest surprises was Vietnam Veterans who told me that it was excellent for "Battle Terrors" and also PTSD, which is the unfortunate but all too common sequel with possibly as many as 1,000,000 Veteran victims.

The two common treatments by the VA are Opiates like Morphine, mostly for pain-related symptoms and Anti-Depressants, which the VA was using for DEPRESSION which is a misdiagnosis for ANGUISH, the main psychological sequel of PTSD.