Nay420's Journey through the world of CO2 enrichment

nay420

**this post is part of my grow journal which can be found in my signature**

Nay420's Journey through the world of CO2 enrichment

So I decided to experiment with CO2 enrichment in my grow tent. I heard that it can help with growth, especially while in veg. So while browsing the local hydro store I decided to purchase a myCO2 grow box.
20150613_182447.jpg

I realize now that this picture is upside down, haha, I am still learning. It is a a bag that grows mushrooms inside of a box and generates CO2 as a byproduct. It doesn't fizz or really do anything noticable, so I decided to investigate other options.

I decided that I would try a simple sugar/yeast fermentation vessel. I looked at the available information on the internet, and decided to just make my own 2 liter vessel with a bubble counter. I It is really just 2/3 full of simple syrup(1 part sugar, 1 part water) and then I added the activated yeast
20150613_182330.jpg

It creates one bubble of CO2 every 5 seconds, which is nice to watch. I put vegetable oil in the bubbler, to try to fight any smells.

This prompted more internet research, in which I found out that the yeast likes something to eat and baking soda for a catalyst. So, I found a bigger container(3L) and filled it 2/3 of the way with simple syrup, added the baking soda(1 tsp) and the activated yeast, which I activated a little bit better than I did in the first 2L bottle. I then added some Apple Jacks cereal because it is what I had on hand. I set up a safety lid(a sandwich baggie and duct tape) to prevent any explosions or bubbling to get on my plants.
20150613_182350.jpg

Cue my having to go to bed because its already 4am on friday night and I have to be at work at 8am saturday. I lost track of time doing my internet research and building my fermenting vessels. I went to bed and then went to work.