New grow

rds_sk8er420

k sooo im new to growing this is going to be my first grow.
if read some threads, read some books, watched some movies.
now im looking for some advice on matirials....
I currently am germinating about 10 seeds, and have built a box in quite a large cold room/closet type place(not really cold at all but its a LARGE closet in my basement that has no windows and no vents outa it other then a small crack under the door), now i have the go ahead to grow my g/fs mom is smoke friendly and we dont mind if that room is smelly. the box in lined with tinfoil shinny side, I was wondering about lights---as in can i pick em up from rona or home depot, and how much im looking at i got maybe 50bucks for lights, can in no way afford a ballast, and can high pressure sodium lights be plugged into a regular light socket?. im using my air hockey fan for the light vent and a little plug in fan for inside vent on plants. i picked up some potting soil, perlite, worm castings, build sand, and pre-mix for soil. I have the pots and everything but no lights, IS THIS A SUITABLE GROW? or is there anything i have missed? any input would be greatful, i know i gotta give it a couple tries to get it right, buy i thought maybe some exp growers could tell me if im going in the right way.

No, HPS lights can not be plugged into a regular outlet. What you've got now sounds pretty good so far, but you're going to have to put some heat into a basement closet. Buy a small space heater or something, Then spend the rest on as many fluoros as you can afford. You can buy 4' tube fluoros and one surge bar, or several serg bars and as many lights as you can plug into them.