Quick question about Unsupervised Probation

FatCat332

I was recently placed on unsupervised probation in MA. I had stopped smoking thinking i would be drug tested but reading my conditions of probation and drug testing is not marked as a condition, can i still smoke?

I'm not a lawyer and I have no experience with law in MA.

I can tell you from my personal experience here in CA that conditions of probation can vary. For example, I spent several years on probation and was not subject to any random drug testing--none of my cases were considered drug related. I could medicate as I pleased worry free. That changed when I got busted on a minor mj possession charge. Random drug testing became a condition of my probation after court. Thankfully those days are long behind me now.

If you don't have to report to anyone chances are you wont be drug tested, and random drug testing would be specifically mentioned in the terms of your probation. However, this is your freedom we're talking about and not mine. For piece of mind alone it may be worth the money just to take your paperwork in to an attorney and get advised on the specifics of your case. Nothing eases the stress of guessing like knowing. :peace:

Gadfly explained it perfectly. I've understood it's better to ask and make sure before you end up "knocked back down 2 steps, after you just climbed one" so to say. It is find for you to be smoking if under the restrictions it is not called out as you say, but if more trouble were to come your way the courts really just do whatever they feel is necessary, if that be drug testing you to see if you are still on the straight and narrow so be it, they will test you if necessary. But hey, if your sitting at home smoking a fat dooby, eating munchies watching Scooby doo, I think you will be A O K bud :thumb: :peace: CA215