Watering in air pruning pots

static123

Hi

I am growing in some 10L air pruning pots, this is my first time with these pots and I have noticed that when watering I am getting 50% run off, is it normal for water to come out the holes around the side, not all of them but quite a few. I did expect this to happen obviously as their a completely different idea but just wanted to check, i was thinking I haven't packed it down enough ? hope not as it would be to late to do anything now.
This was my second water and first was the same 50% run off. The soil is Canna Terra Professional Plus.

Many thanks.

When watering soil, I like to use a small spray bottle to wet the surface of the soil. This is a bit more than just misting, I like to wet the surface. I let this sit for about 5 minutes. Then I use about 1/4 of the water I intend to use in circle about 4" across, right around the base of the plant. Wetting the surface with the mister helps encourage the water to stay where it is poured and, hopefully, encourage it to drop straight down. When you start adding this water, you will want to go slowly. You want to avoid the water rolling across the surface. It may take a few minutes to finish around the base. I then let this sit about 5 minutes. I then use the remaining 3/4 of the water (1/4 at a time) in ever increasing circles. Each circle begins where the last ended. So if the first circle is 4" across, the second my be 5 or 6" across. Try to keep overlapping of the circles to a minimum. Let stand for 5 minutes. Begin the next circle and so on until done.
I also alternate the area that receives the most water. You will get the hang of it as you go.
If you pour water in quickly, it will create little "rivers" or channels below the surface and will all run to a few spots. Wet soil will, though capillary action, draw water inward.

Let me know if this helps.