CA: Pot Is Legal Now - You Have Questions - Here Are Some Answers

Katelyn Baker

Marijuana is now legal in California.

On Tuesday, voters approved Proposition 64, which makes it legal for adults over 21 years old to buy, possess and use marijuana recreationally. The overnight change to state law brought a host of new questions: Can I smoke pot in public? When can I buy it? When is it legal for me to carry it?

I am by no means an expert, but I have covered medical marijuana in the central San Joaquin Valley for about a year now. There are quick, easy answers to a lot of these questions, so here are some responses to queries posted on The Fresno Bee's social media pages.

(Let me say first that possessing an ounce of pot or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis oil is now legal. Buying it is still illegal, as selling it requires a state license. Those licenses will likely not be given until late next year. Adults also may now have up to six plants, provided they are kept indoors.)

Q: I own a restaurant and have been asked multiple times if we can provide a facility where people can come in and eat and dine and watch maybe a sporting event or comedy show with cannabis and Prop. 215 patients. Now that it is legal, can restaurants do this?

A: No. It is not legal to smoke marijuana in public or any place where smoking tobacco is not legal, such as bars and restaurants. There is an exemption that allows cities to create ordinances allowing marijuana smoking in designated areas, but I wouldn't expect that in the Valley. Maybe Coalinga would, as they passed even more ordinances embracing marijuana last night.

Q: Can employers still fire you or refuse to hire you?

A: Yes. I covered that in this story last week, but the new law clearly states that employers still have a right to maintain a drug-free workplace.

Q: Are there new laws to convict for a DUI?