Cal-Mag Issue?

Jack W

Hi - Total Newbie here:

I Noticed a bit of browning just yesterday that has increased today. Looking through the threads here seems it could be a Cal-Mag issue? I'm using bottled water; the PH is around 6. No additional nutes have been added. Before I make this diagnosis I would appreciate an experienced eye or two to take a look. If it is Cal-Mag deficiency, are there any readily available options? No grow shops in my area so I'm limited to Home Depot, True Value etc, (ordered the Ocean Forest via True Value and had it delivered to the store; took 10 days though). Thank you in advance.

The basics:
-Northern Lights Auto/Fem
- LED 12W Now 24W Grow Light TaoTronics (about 6 inches away)
- 1 square foot tent (12"x 12"x 24")
- Ocean Forest Soil
- 13 Days Since planting
- 1 Gallon Pot
1217151206b.jpg
1217151206a.jpg
1217151206_1_.jpg

That looks to me to be a calcium but not a magnesium deficiency.

Typically that happens from a pH issue and your pH is too low if you are adding 6.0 regularly. For good Calcium absorption in soil you want it much higher. Try to stick to around 6.5 for best results.

The typical solution if you have a pH issue it so flush the pot with pH'd solution then add proper nutes that have calcium in them (as most do) at the proper pH. In soil you don't really want to go below 6.2

:thumb:

High Jack W

If anything it looks like nute burn to me. No way you are having calmag issues in that soil with such a young plant. I've seen a lot of posts that have the same issues with Happy Frog, Ocean Forest and rich soils like them. Some strains can take it but many can't handle it.

If I did anything I'd flush it thru with water to reduce the amount of nutes some. The runoff would be great for the houseplants or add to the compost heap.