Grow closet questions

Imaskypilot

A newbie here. I’m building a 95 sq ft grow closet. I have a six inch inline fan (240 cfm) & filter, so I assume the exhaust will be six inch? I’ve heard that the inlet has to be larger than the exhaust. I also have to get a light proof inlet vent. What is the rule of thumb on inlet vs exhaust? Many Thanx!

Passive intake vents should have at least double the area of the exhaust. Your exhaust is 28.27 sq in, so your intake(s) should total no less than 56-1/2 sq in. That's a diameter of 8.5", a register 4" X 14", or a 6" X 10" grate.

I know you didn't ask but I am two grows deep now, let me share one lesson I thought was kinda overkill. Follow the intake suggestions but also do yourself a big favor and make some square inlets that you can swap cheap furnace filters into.

Total months growing estimate 9 months (ish) I did not see any need to filter my inlets only to see sooo much dust build up on my fan blades, they need to be fairly clean to a. save electricity & b. just move more air efficiently and quietly.

Granted I have pets but the grow room mostly has door closed and of course the tent is enclosed. I can't believe how much crap builds on the fans. I work with anything tech hardware related as such see tons of fans & lots of crap build up but my tent fans collect so much more. I am pretty sure that's why they designed server fans to really spin fast at startup. They sound like jet engines small ones! But loud that allows they to shed a lot of debris, which blows all over inside the cabinets but most gets blown out the back.

Can't do that w grow room fans, I am a but lazy part from pain but part lazy w a dash of not liking wasting time on useless crap like cleaning fans. Filters on my inlets next grow, along with my first journal I hope!

Anyway welcome to our corner of the weed web! People here so welcoming and helpful.

Holy moly a 95sq ft closet. :thedoubletake: