Medical Marijuana Users Learn New Law

Medical marijuana advocates spent the day getting the word out about the new law that allows marijuana usage for medical treatment. The Tri-Cities chapter of the Michigan Medical Marijuana Association laid out all of the specifics for a group of patients who say marijuana has been their saving grace from pain.

"The message there is to keep your nose clean and comply with the law, and everything should be ok," said Greg Switala, one of the event organizers. He met with about three dozen supporters at the Hoyt Public Library in Saginaw Saturday afternoon.

Patients say they have been waiting for this moment for a long time. "I've been treating myself for five years, "said John Roberts who suffers from Hepatitis C.

"I can't take Tylenol or pills, stuff like that. Medical marijuana is very helpful. It alleviates lots of symptoms," he said.

Under the new law, the state is issuing ID cards which protect people from being arrested while using marijuana for medial treatments. "Primary caregivers," also known as suppliers and growers, must be at least 21-years-old. They cannot have any felony drug convictions. Switala said the meeting is mainly about information and for medical marijuana suppliers to know the law.

"If a patient steps outside the lines, if a qualified care giver sells marijuana to a non-qualified patient or caregiver they are subject to a $2,000 fine, jail time and a felony," he said.

News Hawk- Ganjarden 420 MAGAZINE ® - Medical Marijuana Publication & Social Networking
Source: WEYI NBC25
Author: Dave Kinchen
Copyright: 2009 WEYI NBC25