ph Control issue

pinky2213

hey guys I have a DWC set up (new to water). I have cleaned everything thoughly but my ph keeps going too high. I have 2 seedlings in clay pellets I am using well water and "general hydro" nutes and micros. And I keep getting this brownish build up at the top of my res. I have been using vinegar to lower it bur like 1 hr. later its right back to 7+. I could really use a little help.

Re: ph controll issue

Thanks for the input Dr. Yea the ph down was what I was leaning toward. I don't know if the ground water contains micro bugs or not lol. But I do know its driving me batty lol. I will look into the R.O. thing though. Thx again.

ok i'm back, with another question. As I am just starting out, I am running 400 W cfl at 5,000k putting out 6,200 lumens in a 3.5'x3.5' area. I am using a reflector and the lights are about 3" from the plants in a 5 gal bubbler. my question is does this sound like a workable set up?

If you are using the entire 12.25 sq. ft. area for growing then you don't have enough light. You'll need a minimum of 50 watts/sq. ft. and 2,000 lumens/sq. ft. for the vegetation stage and 3,000 lumens/sq. ft. for the flowering stage. From a wattage stand point your current lighting can adequately cover 8 sq. ft., however the lumens seem very low for 400 watts. I get over 25,000 lumens from my ~400 watt CFL lighting setup.

LOL I have not as a matter..... I am new to water. i'm a kinda get DIRTy kinda guy :). (EC)?

What made you decide to grow go hydro?
I'm also into soil for my first couple of grows. Not really satisfied as they say bigger yield and faster finishing can be expected from indoors especially in a hydro set-up.
Been trying to validate it from those who tried both like you. :thanks: