T5 for veg room - How much light?

growstrong

Hello all. I am looking for a little advice on setting up a veg tent. I plan on setting up a 3x3' tent strictly for veg. I plan on 2 plants at a time and lst them for more bushier plants then move them to my flower tent (also 3x3') under an already existing 600 watt hps. I have been doing the full grow in just 1 tent and switching between mh/hps for veg/flower.

So the question is what would you recommend for t-5 veg? 2' 4 bulb x 2 light fixtures? or say 1 fixture 2' long but 8 bulbs? I would like to get as close as possible to my old mh results but need to save on that power bill on my veg tent. Also would you recommend duel spectrum? (couple of red bulbs mixed with the blue?) I kind of need to keep this as cheap as possible on both equipment and power bill hence the t-5.

Thanks guys!

Hey growstrong,

I'm no expert by any means but I can say from past experience that I have managed the entire seedling to harvest on T5 lights. Not great yields but I put that down to inexperience and environmental issues. Quality was better than average, even if yields were not ideal. The point is that veg has gone quite well despite my errors and that with modification and experience I reckon yield could be significantly increased.

What was used? 4-6 HO T5 bulbs 2' long (24w each bulb). Kelvin of 8500k or 2700k, or a mixture of, depending on veg/flower stage. This was on 1-2 plants at a time.