NE & OK Pot Lawsuit Fails The Common Sense Test

Shandar

The states of Nebraska and Oklahoma made national headlines on Thursday by filing a lawsuit with the U.S. Supreme Court, alleging Colorado's legalization of marijuana has done costly harm to both states.

I'm not a legal expert, but beyond the exact issues with the Supremacy clause of the U.S. Constitution and other laws in question, it seems to me that the lawsuit doesn't pass the common sense test.

To blame one state for skyrocketing the costs of prosecuting certain crimes in other states fails to take various common sense issues into account.

First of all, as we saw in our own state and by our own Federal government, enforcement agencies have latitude when it comes to deciding the priority of enforcing and prosecuting certain laws.

Denver decided before Amendment 64 passed to make enforcing minor marijuana laws a low priority. The federal government has done the same last year.

Because of that freedom, a state would not need to see resources being drained trying to enforce one particular law.

We have seen this flexibility of enforcement when it has come to illegal immigration. Some states decide to pursue violations more vigorously, but all come at the issue with choice and the ability to adapt due to resources.

But beyond the basic common sense of enforcement flexibility, this tactic also fails the political common sense test.

Neighboring states having issues with newly legalized pot is nothing new. But as everyone knows, you get many more bees with honey than with vinegar.

If Oklahoma and Nebraska really wanted to address budget concerns due to marijuana law enforcement, both states should have addressed our state government directly, without a lawsuit.

Everyone knows that Colorado has a governor in John Hickenlooper who loves to not only make people happy, but also has great experience at making deals.