Need advice on soil, questions about bat guano, & random questions from a newbie

one arm steve

Hello guys!

I'd like some advice from some knowledgeable people. This is my first time growing outside (I've only gown once indoors). I'm a complete newbie so please excuse my ignorance on some topics.

My first question is about soil. I know the standard mixes found at big-box stores aren't the best way to go. Unfortunately I live hours away from the closest places that sells Fox Farm and similar soils. However, I do have access to fertile farm soil which has been is use for about a century. I've read that this type of soil can work great.

So can I use this type of soil? If so, what are the minimum things you guys would add to such soil? Perlite? Worm castings? I'd really like to stick with stuff that I could buy locally at the farmers market, or lowes, etc..

My second question regards nutrients. I have access to bat guano which another farmer has used for years on his plants. He is going to teach me how to use it properly; I've read horror stories of guano burning plants. Will bat guano keep a plant happy/healthy all the way through flowering? I'm also planning on using molasses, particularly during flowering.

Thanks in advance! I really appreciate input!

-one arm steve

What type of crops do the farmers grow in the fertile farm soil? That may be a great indicator whether MJ will like it or not. If they are growing corn or tomatos, which require lots of nitrogen, you'll be just fine and may not even need the Bat Guano.

What type of crops do the farmers grow in the fertile farm soil? That may be a great indicator whether MJ will like it or not. If they are growing corn or tomatos, which require lots of nitrogen, you'll be just fine and may not even need the Bat Guano.

Thanks for the reply, it has me hoping I'm on the right tract! :thumb: And the guano has luckily already been secured!