First grow - Should I pollinate?

BorisHoris

420 Member
Hi

I'm a newbie, currently gathering materials for my first grow - a small (3 plant) cupboard grow. So far I have the cupboard, reflective sheeting, I'll get my fan/duct and filter tomorrow and I'm currently choosing light - probably LED or CFL.

I've done a heap of reading over the last couple of months in preparation for this, and watched loads of videos too, so I'm reasonably sure I've got the idea of the basics.

I don't have a source for clones, but there are a few seedbanks close by, so I'm going to buy some good seeds to start me off. I don't use very much, so 3 plants will set me up with enough buds for a long time!

I'm looking for some opinions on the following:

Should I buy new seeds each time I start a new grow? Or should I allow my first batch to pollinate if I get a male, deal with the fact that my first buds won't be so great, but give me enough seed to keep me going a long time? Are there any major disadvantages to this approach (other than a less-good crop first time)? Most of my research seems to point to pollinated weed still being pretty decent!

Unfortunately I don't have space to grow anywhere else, so I can't really keep a male seperate and do the 'only pollinate one branch in a bag' trick - so it's either pollinate or not!

After the first grow and a load of seeds, which I can keep in decent storage conditions, I'd just grow females.

All ideas and comments very gratefully accepted! I intend to document the cupboard-build and grow, so will post here when I have something to post!

Cheers!

Welcome Boris,