Lil white insects!

Ok so today i was going thru the soil in my first grow and i noticed alot of lil white bugs under the soil! WTF are these lil things! will they harm my plants and how the heck can i get rid of them! :thanks:

Ok so today i was going thru the soil in my first grow and i noticed alot of lil white bugs under the soil! WTF are these lil things! will they harm my plants and how the heck can i get rid of them! :thanks:

Hey do you notice any adult Gnats around? Because the Fungus Gnats larva look like that =/ and they'll eat your roots. Could also be white flys though.

No i didnt notice and adult gnats around, they dont look like larve either they look like lil bitty lice someone told me they could be springtails does anyone know what they are?

I was gonna let someone else thats more knowledgable then me reply because im pretty new to growing and all but heres a little info.

Well springtails look like fleas and range in color but they can be white, they hop somewhat like a flea as well. From what iv read about them they dont cause to much damage to plants and tend to eat the mold or fungus thats in the soil but will eat decaying organtic matter or suck juices in the roots. They need moisture to survive. So id let it all dry out and mabey try some neem oil or something along those lines.

Also they love moss and you may be able to see them at the bottom of the pots after a good watering because they get flushed out the bottom.

yeah they look like lil bitty fleas and are white they freaked me out because i dont want them to harm my plants, i was moving the soil around with my fingers and noticed them under the dry soil on top

Can you try a safers soap drench of the soil?

Do they hop or just crawl. I beleive springtails hop around.