Metalocalypse: Texas Hippie Coalition

Jim Finnel

Fallen Cannabis Warrior & Ex News Moderator
Denison-based Texas Hippie Coalition, or THC to fans, lays claim to the title "Kings of Red Dirt Metal," and will more than likely rock you the eff out. These guys feel like Pantera meets Lynyrd Skynyrd, so horns most definitely up. (Plus, the drummer goes by "Cowboy.") Lead singer Big Daddy Rich recently spoke with Metalocalypse about the Man in Black, horror movies and whether or not the abbreviation of the band's name is a coincidence. See if you can guess.

THC-thumb-510x382.jpg

Metalocalypse: When was the first time you saw a Band/performer and said to yourself. "I want to do that for a living"? Who was it, and why were you so impressed?

Big Daddy Rich: Johnny Cash. I was really impressed with his stage presence, the ability to control a crowd and keep them hanging on every word, whether it was lyrics in a song or his ranting and raving between songs.

M: What is a typical Sunday like for Texas Hippie Coalition?

BDR: Hopefully some football, always some smoking and not just on the grill. Texas Barbeque and an unfriendly game of Texas Hold 'em.

How do you feel about the metal music scene today, versus where it was say in the mid-'80s and '90s?

BDR: I feel like the metal music scene is in a strange place because of the advances in technology, the Internet and such. Before, a band would be judged on whether they went gold or platinum, [but] with free downloads and pirating a band today may only sell 500,000 CDs, where in the '80s or '90s they might have [gone] double platinum.

M: Are the members of THC horror movie fans? And what are you most afraid of?

BDR: Yes, big horror movie fans. Especially blood and gore. My new favorite is Hatchet, and of course we dig all the Saw movies. I ain't afraid of shit. Bring it and I'll kick the shit out of it (laughs)!