New to Growing, a few unanswered questions about DWC and Hydroponics

GodAm4twizzle

How's it going? I'm very VERY new to growing and had been somewhat motivated lately as where I live has since made medical MJ legal, making it a TON easier for folks like myself to manage their health related issues in a more natural, non-pharmaceutical company kinda way. I've been reading TONS of stuff on this forum and a couple others, and still hadn't seen any definitive answers to a couple questions I had, so I apologize if this has been covered and I haven't reached the proverbial "end of the internet," with this information..

First off: my grow will be done in a 2'x2'x3.5' enclosure that I made. I've built a single 5-gal bubble bucket and have already gathered nearly everything I need, short of nutes, grow medium (rockwool, grow cubes/hydroton) and ventilation. After doing a fair amount of reading on Autos, it seems they don't usually stretch super-tall, so I figured those dimensions would be about perfect. I'm planning on using an 8" netpot. For lighting, I'm using CFLs to the tune of 2700k's and 6500k's, nearly a 1:2 ratio respectively (I have 4 - 6500K's and 3 - 2700k's). I'm only planning on growing 1 plant to start this time. The strain is Ministry of Cannabis Auto Blue Amnesia.

So here we go....

I've read about folks using chillers to maintain their water temps around 70F-80F (~18C-22C). Since I'm doing an RWC with just one plant, would this be necessary? Does the air pump throw off THAT much heat where it will be important to chill?

Secondly, I've also read folks using an auxiliary resevoir later in their grow for additional nutes since the root balls take over and end up displacing more water. Is this absolutely necessary, as my space constraints are a little tight. I believe I read that the bigger the root ball, generally the bigger the plant. I'm not a botanist nor am I experienced in growing much other than a common indoor Hosta..