Newbie Question about Nutes

flexy123

Yes I read the FAQ, but just out of curiosity...

I am growing with Canna Terra Pro soil + CalMax right now. I have no particular experience with nutes.

Is it mandatory that I get grow/flowering nutes since the nutes in the soil will be depleted in some weeks?

What about "dollar store" universal fertilizer? They have one product which I found is some sort of liquid worm humus which can be used as a foliar spray, with your watering or undiluted just pouring some in the pot?

What about any standard "universal fertilizer" you can get at almost any store? Should I avoid all this and just get some special nutes like BioBuzz grow/bloom?

yes u need at least two base nutrients one for veg and one for flowering veg is high in Nitrogen and flower is low in nitrogen and high in phosphorus y r u using cal/mag? led light? that terra soil should be good without cal/mag unless it has a lot of coco in it i would stay away from dollar store nutrients chemical crap and hard to flush out. at the very least get some organic (if possible) miracle grow. mg all purpose is 24-8-16 that's pretty good for veg grow but way too much N for flowering u can order really good nutes on eBay cheap too don't skimp on the nutes and u will have a nice smokable end product

you do need atleast the base nute for veg and for bloom.
I use the General Hydro. FloraNova. Its good stuff not overly priced.
I been using it for 2 grows now with no problems.
heres a 2 pack bundle. Amazon: General Hydroponics FloraNova Grow & Bloom Quart

1666929327125.png

this is a potting soil - you dont need to use ANY nutes at this point. maybe some guano extract in the end - it's rich in P.

90% growers use nutes when not needed and the result is shitty small plants with no yields. i could not find any specific NPK values for your soil but that is where you start. potting soil or tomato/paprika soil is usually good to go without any nutes.