Problem with 1st time DWC - Need reassurance

mikegarcia

Hello, this is my first time growin in dwc. I dont know my ph or ppm but ive read that some first time growers never used them for first grows. I just recently transplanted from siol to hydroton in dwc on 10/21/2012 but she has not grown since and the roots have turned light brown. I dont know if its from nutes or if its root rot. I am using botanicare at 1/4 strength in a 5 gallon bucket with 2 air stones. She the only seedling I have so I really hope she pulls through. I did uproot just to see if she was growing any new roots and to my suprise she had so this gives me some hope. She is under 4 four ft 32 watt flourescant lights. like i said maybe i just need reassurance but any advice is greatly appreciated.
2012-10-25_12_07_21.jpg
2012-10-25_12_10_53.jpg
2012-10-25_12_09_32.jpg
2012-10-25_12_09_00.jpg
2012-10-25_12_07_58.jpg

Re: problem with 1st time DWC. Need reasurance.

Get that thing into a rockwool cube. just twirl the roots in one direction befoe you try to put it in the plug. Dont try to push it straight in. roll it in. It wouldn't hurt to even put some Superthrive or some b-vitamin type product. Soak the rockwool in a solution with either of those thing in it. 1 drop of super thrive should do it.

Thats what I would do.

Re: Problem with 1st time DWC. Need reasurance.

Hey Mike -

Honestly, it isn't ideal/good idea to transplant from soil to DWC, and you absolutely should be checking your PH in DWC in my opinion.