Question about changing out the res

Papageno

So I am new to hydro and have my first DWC system running. My buddy has for 6 years now not changed out his res during a run. He checks the PH every few days and tops of water and nutes. At harvest he dumps it and cleans. He gets great results. He is using General Hydroponics which I believe is synthetic which is part of how he can do this I think. By that I mean with my limited understanding of Organic nutes I would think that it wont work with organics to do that. So this is why I started this thread as I have a pile of questions about this because I have read on here many other people getting away with also not changing out the res. I know it works.

And before I list some of my questions I would add I am concerned for 2 reasons. Obviously the cost and labor aspect being simpler to just top off and add. But even more to the point is I finally got a very happy stable tea in my res that I would hate to dump.

1) When organic nutes get old and you have to change them out are they biodegrading and that is why they have to be flushed so soon? Are the nutes changing chemically to something that is bad or are they just changing into something that is not usable.

2) When the nutes from a synthetic (possibly also an organic also) get locked out do they have adverse affects to the plant by becoming salts or something else harmful or again do they just change into something not usable?

3) If you are using beneficial's (I am currently using both a fungus and a bacteria) and you dump your res should you clean out the res with say H2O2 and re-add new beneficial's or should you leave it and just add fresh water, additives, nutes and such and let the beneficial's grow back again from what is left on the interior of the res.