Root riot without tray

Erki

420 Member
Hei I just started with some seeds, I bought the root riot 100 packet but it came without a tray. Thought ill germinate without the tray as the plugs sit up by themselves. Now what im wondering is the taproot growing out from the bottom of the plug. Is that a problem? Should I prune? Should I plant into a bigger pot? Im pretty sure the plugs have more potential to grow bigger seedlings but its kind of weird with the taproot just hanging out there lol.
Any help much appreciated im new in this. Cheers !
20190918_140204.jpg

That's what tap roots do, drill down to anchor the plant and send out secondary roots. You need to transplant as soon as possible. Be very careful not to damage the tap root, as that will likely kill your seedling.

Hei I just started with some seeds, I bought the root riot 100 packet but it came without a tray. Thought ill germinate without the tray as the plugs sit up by themselves. Now what im wondering is the taproot growing out from the bottom of the plug. Is that a problem? Should I prune? Should I plant into a bigger pot? Im pretty sure the plugs have more potential to grow bigger seedlings but its kind of weird with the taproot just hanging out there lol.
Any help much appreciated im new in this. Cheers !
Now that you have a plant started move on to the next step. What did you have planned? Are you going into a larger pot with real soil in it? Or, are you going to put into a larger pot that is going to be part of a water or hydroponic style method of growing. It is not really weird with the tap root hanging out there, that is the way it is supposed to be.