Sativa Harvest Timing?

Stormycirca65

I have a unique and wonderful problem I need help with. I have what may be a nearly pure sativa strain. This flower is F'n beautiful, with huge colas, whisper thin leaves and such a heavy feeder! It's at 8 weeks now and I know sativas can go many weeks longer. It's not showing the usual traits I'm used to seeing for maturity. Sativa enthusiasts... what do you look for and when do you harvest? Stormy

Oh, and by the way...New member? Really? I've been a member since 08. Just because I read a lot and know how to shut the f up and let the experts answer doesn't mean I'm a newb.

Hi Stormycirca65.

I just recently completed a grow with a Sativa dominant (not pure) plant and judged it's maturity by examining the trichome color as I did with it's Indica dominant tent mate. Have you used magnification and examination of trichome's to judge maturity/harvest in the past?

If not what traits have you keyed on when deciding when to harvest?

Thx TanR, I have a loupe for 20 and 30 magnification and a hand micro for 60 to 100 magnification. I examine tricomes before and during each harvest. I've never dealt with such a pure strain sativa as this and I'm at a loss. I'm so used to tracking tricome production at 8 wks and this plant is super healthy and showing me nothing as far as tricome progress, pistils turning colors ...huge buds, piney smell I have, this things gonna be a monster but I have no idea when I should chop it yet. I'm just lookin for a heads up from some aficionados ; )

TanR has done a great job of explaining the method that most use - but I have been looking at the swelling of trichs recently. Much harder to see - but likely way more accurate than color. Also sorta an advanced technique as you need some experience looking at trichs.