Cannabis Is The Least Of Your Worries

Ron Strider

I've dealt with chronic pain since I broke my hip at 17, and few years ago I had to have a second hip surgery. The recovery was long and arduous and the extent to which I would recover was uncertain. I was warned (as I was after my first hip surgery) that I would likely need a hip replacement before turning 40.

In and of itself, this information isn't interesting or important, but it segue ways into the subject of chronic pain, surgery, recovery, and more chronic pain. Surely, you can assume the theme I'm going to discuss, right? It's pain management, if you didn't.

This is significant because I live in an urban area where mobility is necessary. Even though the mass transit system is pretty good, you walk a lot. It's also significant because I've been chasing around my daughter for the last 4 years.

You heard that correctly. I am a parent and use cannabis as pain management and, contrary to the opinion of our current Attorney General, I am not a bad person. 

Now that I've got that off my chest, I feel that we can move on.

Opioids are both useful for pain management and a doorway

For the long and uncomfortable recovery my doctor prescribed a healthy amount of painkillers; specifically, about a three month's supply of 5m of oxycodone and a lesser supply of 10m oxycontin. Given that this was only two years ago, the literature on the addictiveness of opiates was ubiquitous and I had no intention of becoming a statistic. Despite this knowledge, dependency came quick and subtle, but I continued to take the pills to quell the grinding pain in my hip.

After nearly two months of using opiates, a friend joked how I'd probably become chemically dependent. I was, but my opiate story ends with several days of heightened anxiety and mild discomfort, then never looking back.