Using Natural Organic Compost Soil

G-Dog

I have a tiny indoor soil grow that I am just starting.

I have rooted clones and I am putting them into soil today.

Now I live in the Pacific Northwest. My backyard is a canyon of many species of trees; Maples, firs, oaks and vines. The leaves from all of this have been falling into this canyon since the beginning of time. It is a very beautiful and ruggedly natural place.

The other day I took a shovel and dug under the leaves and found very rich, black soil. You cannot buy soil as rich as this. I want to use it. However, I have a fear of bugs, specifically mites.

Now I have never used natural organic compost before. I am so wanting to use this stuff, but I fear the mites. Mites live in leaves of living plants. I wonder if I were to dig deep into this soil if I can get soil or is the mite risk too high.

Any thoughts on this are appreciated.

I have a tiny indoor soil grow that I am just starting.

I have rooted clones and I am putting them into soil today.

Now I live in the Pacific Northwest. My backyard is a canyon of many species of trees; Maples, firs, oaks and vines. The leaves from all of this have been falling into this canyon since the beginning of time. It is a very beautiful and ruggedly natural place.

The other day I took a shovel and dug under the leaves and found very rich, black soil. You cannot buy soil as rich as this. I want to use it. However, I have a fear of bugs, specifically mites.

Now I have never used natural organic compost before. I am so wanting to use this stuff, but I fear the mites. Mites live in leaves of living plants. I wonder if I were to dig deep into this soil if I can get soil or is the mite risk too high.

Any thoughts on this are appreciated.

Sounds like you've got some of natures goodies at your feet! Congrats!

My idea would be to collect it and store it in a container like a trash barrel or something.