View from 'The Group W Bench'

Several years ago, my husband, Bill, and I were listening to Arlo Guthrie's Thanksgiving classic, "Alice's Restaurant." This song tells the story of a Thanksgiving celebration with hilarious and unforeseen consequences, including an arrest for littering and an impact on Mr. Guthrie's experience with the Vietnam War draft.

Bill and I have been listening to the song every year since we met nearly twenty years ago, but on Thanksgiving Day, 2004, I felt as though I was hearing part of it for the first time.

Earlier in the spring of that year, after dipping my toes into the waters of politics in Maryland, Bill and I decided to pack up and move our family to Oregon. Our primary reason for moving was so that I could take the medicine I need, cannabis, without breaking the law.

In Maryland, although I helped to pass a law that allowed an affirmative defense for the "crime" of taking a dose of marijuana, it was still a crime, and I still had to live with the threat of someone breaking down my door, pointing guns at my children, and hauling me off to jail, before I could have benefited from an affirmative defense.

Sometimes, when I was preparing sweet rolls before the sun came up, I wondered what I should do, were someone to break down our door just then. Should I grab the knife tighter and move to defend myself and my family from a burglar? Or should I drop the knife and raise my hands over my head, in case it was the police or the DEA conducting a raid?

There was one, single day when I felt truly safe in my own home back then. A storm had blanketed the entire northeast in a thick layer of ice, and all of the roads were closed. I knew for certain that no one — not even the DEA — would be able to drive on those roads, let alone break down my door that day.