Citric acid instead of lemon juice?

KitchenWitch

420 Member
HI there, I'm new to washing bud and have a question. I use a combination of lemon juice and baking soda for the second wash. I was wondering for ease of use, instead of using actual lemon juice can I use powdered citric acid? Squeezing the lemons is a pain in the butt and I don't like to use the store bought lemon juice since most of what I've found in the store has added oils which I want to avoid. Thanks for any advice.

The only added oil I can find on the bottles of lemon juice in our fridge or the pantry shelf is lemon oil. And, that is the last ingredient listed so it is the least amount.

Citric Acid is part of the fluids in citrus fruits but for the huge food additive market they have to make it in large quantities and make a lot of it. Have you looked up how the citric acid you buy at the store is made? Might not be what you think.

Someone on this message board brought it up about a year ago. Since then I have decided to use the bottled juice for bud washing.

Thanks for replying. Yes I've looked up how it's manufactured. Citric acid is produced by feeding a particular type of mold a diet of sugar. The byproduct being citric acid. Just curious because I have citric acid on hand for other household purposes and I wanted to avoid using anything in the final wash that actually had a list of ingredients. I'm probably splitting hairs and being way too anal, but I figured hey, doesn't hurt to ask the people of the forum, right?

Thanks for replying. Yes I've looked up how it's manufactured. Citric acid is produced by feeding a particular type of mold a diet of sugar. The byproduct being citric acid. Just curious because I have citric acid on hand for other household purposes and I wanted to avoid using anything in the final wash that actually had a list of ingredients. I'm probably splitting hairs and being way too anal, but I figured hey, doesn't hurt to ask the people of the forum, right?