Cotyledon leaves curved up

Growth

hi, big time noob here and first time grower. i have 2 plants 1 week old. 4 40w 5000k cfls 1inch away with reflective material throughout grow area. 1 small fan not hitting plants directly. using fox farms ocean forest soil.

I had an issue with humidity(not enough) causing the seed shell to not fall off, after adjusting humidity and light misting, the shell fell off.

My concern now is that the cotyledon leaves are curved up while the the first set of "true leaves" are growing. (as pictured) Is this a problem?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! :thumb:
IMG_20170607_194026.jpg
IMG_20170607_193939.jpg

Hi and good luck with your first grow! I wouldn't worry too much about the curling - new sets of leaves will grow. I've had many new girls sprout in a seemingly weird way only for them to develop into catwalk mod3ls ;)

Not what you're asking about, I know, but four, 40-watt CFLs an inch away from a seedling are probably going to get it too hot and give it too much light. Just one of them up close (not too close) should be fine for now. A $16 lux meter from Amazon could tell you more. (You want about 20000 to 50000 lux. I'm going to guess you're over 100,000 with those 4 bulbs that close.)

Like SLHL, I think your plant looks ok. Freaky cotyledons (from the too-close CFLs?) the the true leaves look ok.

I'm a rookie grower myself... so take this with a grain of salt..

From my understanding, those leaves are crucial and packed full of nutrients for your young plant. I would not cut them off until they look wilted and die.

With that said, the cotelydon leaves curling up wouldn't concern me. My current grow did the same and they are doing fine now 3 days into 12/12. They are huge and robust. I did my seedlings under a 1k mh bulb about 30in away.... they are bad ass now 5.5 weeks later.

Good luck bro. They should be cool.