crunchy crisp broken plants. HELP!

HeadMed

question:

I have been growing the same strains for a little over 2 years now.

xxx og
afgooey

recently also

jack the ripper
deep chunk x strawberry cough

systems are ebb and flow tables
medium is Diatomite (fossil rock)
using standard GH 3 part nutes, and r/o water.

continuous harvest.

Seems like for the past couple months or so... the plants have gotten reall "crisp".

Flowered plants, and plants in veg, even mothers... appear to be beautiful and in perfect health... but brushing past the plants can cause massive stem breakage... just "pop" broken stem...

they didn't used to be like this..

anyone else ever have this... is it a known sign of something?

sounds like a strange problem, can you post a pic?

yeah it will be a bit. plants look good though. They are growing fine... producing fine, pretty and green in veg, and big and crystallized in bloom. They just got real delicate all of a sudden. The stems break like...mmmm... you ever break the ends off of really fresh snap peas... like that, only a whole lot easier.

Anyone think they could be over hydrated?

you are experiencing the 1st symtoms of lockout...there is a deficiency somewhere...Ive seen this problem 1st hand....
they are being overhydrated...they are starving for something..calicum and Magnesium perhaps

lock out huh.... hmmm hadn't thought of that. it makes sense. with the effort od conservation (and just sheer amount of gallons it takes) i had stopped changing my rez's every week, and put them on a rolling 4 week change out schedule. monitoring ph and ppm has kept them looking good, but the timing is right.

lock out huh.... hmmm hadn't thought of that. it makes sense. with the effort od conservation (and just sheer amount of gallons it takes) i had stopped changing my rez's every week, and put them on a rolling 4 week change out schedule. monitoring ph and ppm has kept them looking good, but the timing is right.