Germinating question

skitzle

hey everyone, i recently started germinating a second batch of seeds by using the wet paper towel in a cd case method, and it's been about 3.5 days and still absolutely no sign of cracking. is it possible for seeds to die? like, just not be able to plant or root anymore?

also, 1 more question, what would people say is the fastest and easiest way to germinate?

Yes, seeds can go bad. However, it can also sometimes take up to a week for the seeds to crack using the paper towel method. Don't give up just yet.:peace:

I'm new to this, but I've found that seeds can definitely be "bad", but they also sometimes take a bit longer - so don't give up until you have to (probably hopeless after a week). There are some key things I found that matter in your success - mostly: consistent "warm" temp (lower to mid 80 deg. Farenheit worked great for me), humid conditions, and darkness.

In detail, what worked great for me, was:

paper towels were first wetted thoroughly with distilled water

paper towels were almost completely "rung out" first (gave them a good squeeze or two, but didn't try to ring them out as thoroughly as I could have if that makes sense...

seeds in paper towels that were folded into 4th's

I took the folded, damp paper towels with seeds inside and put them on a ceramic plate with a bowl over the top, making sure that none of the paper towel stuck out from the bowl.

I placed this on my cable box and monitored the temperature - the cable box kept the temp at about 82 degrees

I checked once or twice the first day to make sure they were staying damp and misted them (paper towels) some with Distilled water.

This method gave me taproots on 4 out of 5 in just over 24 hours. The fifth was a dud and never sprouted, but I don't think it was the methodology - I stuck with it on that one for a week.