My first time growing and I need help

4Richard

This is my first time growing and I am 80 years old (medical use w/card:). A friend gave me 5 plants all were about 1 1/4" tall. I can only grow outdoors (in backyard) so I kept them in the shade for a few days and moved them into direct sunlight where they have been for about 1 month. They receive direct light in the morning and afternoon and indirect light in late afternoon with no nighttime light interruption (except for indirect light from streetlights and nearby windows/yards, moon). Now they are only 2" tall and are already showing their sex. 1 with balls (boy -who has been removed), 3 with hairs (girls) and one that is not showing any sex yet and has round(er) leaf tips. I was planning on transplanting them in the ground in the next few days. I have never seen plants this small starting to bud and I am sure I am doing something wrong. How should I proceed to elicit the best yeild?

My theory on this is that the natural time caused the plants to switch to flower. Im pretty sure the sun is up about 12 hrs and down for another 12 not exact but around. So its like having them on 12/12

Yeah that appears to be what happened, thanks. I do not have anywhere inside to keep plants and cannot afford the electricity for lighting.

So do you think this will work:

I germinate new seeds and get them sprouting. Then I plant them directly in the garden outside with some solar lights (pointing directly at them) which will switch on when it gets dark outside.

I was looking at these: Integral Solar Flood Light - 4 Pack - Solar Spot Lights at Solar Light Store

Would that be sufficient to keep them in veg state until I am happy with the size and unplug the solar lights to start flowering?

Please offer any help you can for what process I can start growing my own Medical MJ from seedlings without any place to keep them inside and under lights.

4Richard, welcome to 420 forums.