Planning on a small to medium set up and questions

ioxide

420 Member
Hi guys, noob here with some questions!

Im thinking of setting up a basic small sized dwc, tent size approx 900x400x600mm and due to the limited size im wondering what sized tank/reservoir would be suitable (I was guessing around 3-4Gal/15L) and also wondering whether the depth of the water/tank is more important than the width or does it not matter as much with dwc? I'd prefer the tank as low and wide as possible but if its hurts the size of the plant I will try and maximize the height.

I'm also wondering how much air is required from the air pump, from my understanding to little isn't good but is it possible to over do it also ? I was looking at a 5 or 10Lpm air pump and wondering if this is sufficient.

And finally I see a lot of people asking about keeping the water cool, but where I am I am worried in the winter the water will be too cold, I cant find anywhere what the minimum water temperature should be and am thinking of using a small fish tank heater around 25-50w and wondering if anyone has done the same or if it would cause issues.

If anyone has any advice that would be super helpful!

Thanks!!

:welcome: ioxide, good questions. i'll be watching to see if i can pick up anything new. @The Phantom and @Pennywise might be able to give you some pointers.

i'm not sure of your resevor size but you need to keep it around 19c i was told. I guess if it gets to cold a aquaruim heater would work as you could set the temp on them, unless you are in alaska:rofl:, we've all had issues with the temp being on the higher side also, make sure no light can get to the water.

:welcome: ioxide, good questions. i'll be watching to see if i can pick up anything new. @The Phantom and @Pennywise might be able to give you some pointers.