Plants left in dark 48 hrs before harvest?

Rendrick

It has been recomended to me to leave plants in 48 hrs dark right before harvest. When i asked why it didnt know. Anyone heard of this or practice this technique? And if so what is the reason for this?:cool:

Thanks Rendrick:peace:

I started practicing the 48 to 72 hours of darkness preharvest a few harvests ago.... it was recommended to me by Advanced Nutrients as an additional way to increase the production and potency of the "essential oils" read Resin/THC.

It also enhanced the flavor slightly... making the flavors somewhat more.... pronounced....

Another less than conventional practice that I started doing around the same time was manipulation of the light period and running 24-12 for the last 14 light/dark periods... this increased the actual time from 2 weeks to 3 weeks... I tracked a varying increase in yield of 8 to 12% per harvest.

Since that time, I changed my overall set up to be perpetual, and doing the 24-12 light period isn't really feasible because it would mean I would be doing it for the entire 8 week flowering period, that would change my flowering period to 12 weeks... I might actually try it sometime, but I don't have plans do so at this point.

I still do the 48 to 72 hours of darkness simply by removing the plants to a "quarantined darkroom"

https://cannabis-science.com/papers/Chemical Ecology of Cannabis.pdf Great article....thanks outlaw

An old salt called rolanterroy turned me on to systematically snipping the ends off leaves during the last few weeks of budding to increase potency, much like the wounds insect or small mammal predation might leave.
...He also taught me about putting the buds into complete darkness for the last 3-7 days before harvest.

My measurements are all qualitative; but isn't that what matters in the end, how it looks, smells, and what it does to us?