Recommend me a fluorescent ballast 2'x2' T8 or T12 - Veg

cnile

Hello. Im looking to purchase a 2 foot by 2 foot flourescent ballast with some type of reflector for my seeds/clones and mother. i have a 2 foot by 4 foot closet for seeds/clones/mother so im going to get two of them.

I heard t8 or t12 bulbs & balast are better for seeds/clones. i read they are not as strong as t5's which can burn the young plants and just be too strong for them.

any advice please help.

Im looking to buy a nice quality product, a two foot by two foot 4 bulb flourescent ballast for my veg, what brands/types do you guys recommend. I stopped by home depot and they have shit. so looking to buy from amazon or something similar. THANKS!!!!!!

For starting my plants I have used CFLs and T-8 Fluoros. I have really low end fixtures. The cheapest I could find. I have had no issues with them. I have no experience with T-5, but that is mainly due to the high price. With CFL and T-8, I generally run the light at about 1.5-2" away from the plants.

Hope this helps, and maybe someone with a better answer will show up.

Been using T5 on cuttings, seedlings etc and never had an issue yet with burning plants. Lots of good growth but no issues

Sent from my E2303 using 420 Magazine Mobile App

T-5's work fine for seedlings (I've used them for years), but IMO, they are not worth paying extra for. Just get the least expensive fixture you can find (probably a T-12), hopefully with 6500K bulbs. The difference in PAR between a T-12 and a T-5HO is not enough to justify the added expense. Either one will work great for sprouting seedlings. Neither is going to do well for the full veg cycle.

Since your closet is 4' wide, why not get one 4' fixture and save some $$$?