Some curing musings and questions

Zafu

Good day all,

So, I've been growing for the past five years, strictly outdoors in 30-gallon fabric pots and the results have been wonderful. Thank you 420 forum for all the assistance along the way. As we all know, growing is the first part, so to speak, but the curing is its own special phase and where much of the magic produces a quality, or somewhat sub quality end result.

Due to my particular situation, curing location, temperatures, etc., I often find my first few harvested ladies drying fairly quickly and may be a matter of days to one week before they find themselves at 62 humidity and jarred with 62% humid packs. This has worked out fine, though never producing the taste and smoothness I've ideally wanted. As the harvesting season continues and temps drop, I find my later harvests have a longer period between harvest and jarring, at 62%, perhaps a few weeks, or more. This year, I've done something different with my last two harvested ladies and that's where my questions and request for any feedback comes in.

Instead of getting the humidity of the buds down to close, or near 62% and jarring with a humidity packet; I've jarred them at 70% with no humidity packet and very very very slowly watching the level drop. At this rate, could be a month, or more before I get them from 70% range to 62% and throw in a humidity packet. Previously, I've been reluctant to do this because I was concerned it may get moldy, so in hind sight, believe I was in too much of a rush to get them close to 62% and in a jar with a packet. I say this, because even at 70%, I don't see any signs of mold at all. I open the jars for a few minutes each day and rotate the buds a bit.