The Best of Both Worlds with Solar Tubes

WhiteWidow9

I came across something interesting today while looking at lighting options. Solar Tubes are similar to skylights, but instead of a flat or rounded clear panel, it's a tube with mirrors inside that deliver a pretty damn good amount of light from the outdoors into your home. They actually make some specifically to "turn any room into a greenhouse". I'm no expert, and I'm still researching it, but this could enable just about anyone to combine the security, temperature control, and discretion of indoor growing, with the lower cost, large yields, and lower maintenance of outdoor growing. Sounds pretty damn awesome to me.

Hello, Im new to this forum and actually signed up because I can across this while researching using solar tubes for growing. I also found the solar grow light tube that "turns any room into a greenhouse". I recently purchased one. It seems like an excellent way to cut down on electric usage. Installed it myself yesterday and I am axious to see what results I'm going to get. I saw there is a product review area in this forum and I'm planning on tracking my results and posting. I'm thinking it could pay for itself quickly, atleast that is what I'm hoping for. Im not sure what the rules of the forum are as far as posting a link to the one I purchased but I would be happy to let anyone know that is interested. Stay tuned :peace: Sam

StanleySam

How much area does it light up?

Holy Cow!

I got the 10" tube so the optimal growing area is 5'x5'. I found good information on their websize on how to size it for your grow area. Solar Grow Tube Kit | Sun Tube

Thanks for the info ... this is awesome!

clipped from that site

" 24" covers 600 sq. ft. (Of bright light) For Optimum growing of plants coverage is a 20'x20' area. (Lumens up to 16500.) "

Re: Holy Cow!

Thanks for the info ... this is awesome!

clipped from that site