Trying to get my basic water right - Growing in Coco Coir - Total newbie

Cmoon

Hi Peeps over the pond,

I might have posted this elsewhere but think it was in the wrong place, so please forgive me, am new to all this great stuff I just didn't realise everybody is doing it!!....Christmas has come early.........Well, almost.

Have spent most of today trying to find a supplier of CaliMag in the UK...... Not a chance! We are way behind you over here so it is more or less learn and do it your own way, so here I go.......Trying just to get my basic water right before addition of nutrients etc. (and I will check the pH after I add the nutrients too).

I am now the proud owner of a pot of

1: G&G Vitamins Magnesium Carbonate Powder (100grams) Pharmaceutical grade, (1lb)

2: Calcium Carbonate Powder, Pharmaceutical grade, (3.5 oz)

3: Pint of pH down.

4: I also got a bottle of Everclear for future use that cost only $118 but I'm ok with that, it's probably cheaper over there but I can't get there till next year and that's no good to me now.

5: I also got A GIANT bucket of epsom salt (10KG BUCKET) 100% Natural, FCC Food Grade, Magnesium Sulphate! For you and I who still speak in English and not EU.........that's about 25lbs in weight!.......Might have over done it just a tad with the epsom salts but it was all I could find. At least I might have some left over when I get out of jail!

Up till two days ago I was just feeding them plain RO water (used to keep a coral reef tank in my living room but that's another story) Now if only I new how to mix my base feed (with Calc, Mag, & pH at 5.8) before I add nutes & stuff, I will be fine. By the way I don't smoke so am going down the tincture route or heat press.

I've got to admit that I thought it was just a case of pop a seed into root riot and sit back & wait, then, when it sprouts stick in a bigger pot and 8 weeks later EURICA! I have my own home made pain killer.....Now I know a little bit more.