Worried about my plant

peteouthere

420 Member
Hey I have my 8 day old seedling, don't have lights so ive been keeping it on the window. I'm worried about it being too top heavy. Any ideas on what i should do? This is my first time growing myself so I really don't wanna screw it up. Btw the soil is just some compost soil. (I know coconut or some substrate would be better, but that's just what i had at home)

weed 1.jpg

weed 2.jpg

Hey I have my 8 day old seedling, don't have lights so ive been keeping it on the window. I'm worried about it being too top heavy. Any ideas on what i should do? This is my first time growing myself so I really don't wanna screw it up. Btw the soil is just some compost soil. (I know coconut or some substrate would be better, but that's just what i had at home)

weed 1.jpg

weed 2.jpg
Welcome to 420 my friend. :welcome:
You should repot her or add more soil. You have too much stem sticking up from soil.

Hi Pete,

Welcome to 420. Coco would not be better, unless you know what to do and how to do it. Coco has zero nutrients to sustain a plant so it must be bottle fed. The reason your seedling is top heavy is because it’s stretching to search for more light, this is not good. Light coming in from a window is very indirect, a tiny seedling should not need to be supported - it should stand on its own.

Most of us use a fan moving air nearby to strengthen the stem but this plant can’t stand without air moving. She needs more light pronto.

Hey, thanks for the advice, I was thinking of doing that, I'm just worried that it's still too young to survive repoting..
Be gentle she will be ok. Do you have any superthrive, or seaweed based products. A drop in her feed will help her recover if you stress her,but at that age she will be fine.