1st ever grow setup, suggestions?

blunted7

alright, im pretty new to this whole forum stuff. i've been onlooking on other grow journals and researchings for months but i finally think i can take the plunge for an indoor garden :).

i have a nice closet space that is 62 inches high, 38 inches wide, and 24 inches in depth.

I have no supplies but through my research, i found that a MH light would be good for vegging, and a hps for flowering. I could easily build a box as right now, the closet is just an open space.

I do have a couple hundred bucks to throw around as i've been saving for this project for a while, and i wanna put out the money to start out with something good that i can use for many crops.

I would really appreciate it if I could get some veteran help, as i am but a noob :). The only realy dilema i'm in right now is which lights to get. I was thinking a 250w MH bulb, then switching to a 250 hps bulb for flowering. But i was wondering if 250 would be good for my space, or if i should get 400w bulbs instead, because it'd be too hot for the little babies.

I have seen how everyone helps each other in this forum which i really respect, and i give thanks to those grow mods just for their dedication to others.

oh by the way i was thinking of getting about 4 plants in there(unless I could fit more), maybe buying a decent carbon filter with a fan built in, as im not very crafty like that.

so any suggestions on the lights would be greatly appreciated, thank you in advance, and happy toking :bong:

while i have only experience growing under cfls and T5 lights, if you would like to use MH and HPS lights you can get a balast such as the 400W Galaxy Digital Ballast. these allow you to use both MH and HPS lights, that way you would just need to change the bulb and the cord and not the ballast as well.