America's Dangerous Moral Crusade

Urdedpal

As a writer, I don't only write for myself. My satisfaction is beyond having written an article and has it published in this column. I write because I want other people to know my thoughts, my sentiments, my desires, my philosophy. I write because I want to build relationships.

Should writing is only meant to my satisfaction, I would not have ventured into column writing. I would have kept my pieces in my diaries instead.

But, since writing for me is making relationship, I would be more interested in knowing that indeed someone reads my articles... my thoughts. This is the reason that having received a text message or email to compliment me for or in reaction to certain topic I wrote gives me a feeling of fulfillment in my writing endeavor. And, I have that another experience this week.

In response to my column "Not a statement of fact, but a statement of possibility" last March 20-21 issue of TNT, an American reader, Robert Sharpe, who is a Policy Analyst, sent me his assessment on the possible rationale of the US report labeling the Philippines a "drug smugglers' paradise".

I have to reiterate that though said report would gain this country the necessary support in its anti-drug campaign, I vehemently condemn it on the premise that, according to PDEA Chief, Director Anselmo Avenido, "it was not a statement of fact, but a statement of possibility."

This country suffers too much political unrest, enough to scare investors. Putting it another negative label as haven of drug traffickers would do to our economy more harm than good. I believe, having well-meaning investors in our country is far more significant and lasting good effect than any US aid for anti-drug campaign can make in our economy.

Relative to my personal reaction on that US State report, Mr Sharpe warns us of the real intention of the United States in giving such "statements of possibility". Mr Sharpe has this to say: