Germination question

MongoGardner

I have 5 AK47 autoflower seeds that have failed to germ (pack of 5). I would question my method, but the 3 freebie seeds (two big buds and a northern light) all sprouted on day #2 and #3 using the exact same method. I'm now ending day 5 of in the soil with no sprout from them. I actually sacrificed one of the 5 and dug it up to see if maybe there was some slow crack/tap root/sprout action going on under the soil that I couldn't see--nope, fully intact seed was down there.

I know that at day 5 it's not hopeless, but my experience is if you don't get germ by day 4 or 5 it's usually pretty hopeless. It's not like I'm dealing with a straggler here, they're 0 for 5 and the other seedlings already have leaves growing.

This is my 3rd go round with cannabis seeds and this method has worked in excess of 90% for me historically (out of 14 seeds total, I've had 1 failure to germ). Plus, I've been growing vegetable gardens from seed for the many years. Is it possible I screwed up or something went awry? Sure..but I guess what I'm getting at is this statement/question: I feel pretty confident that I got a bad batch of seeds--either they were old or got warehouse heat baked for too long, or something. I plan on contacting the vendor regardless of feedback here, but what are your thoughts? Should I expect amends from the vendor, or not, or maybe if I'm lucky?

Here's my germ technique that I used:
  • Soak in water for 24 hours in a small cup. This was placed in a dark area of my entertainment center where it was warm--ambient temp 82 degrees.
  • I DON'T wait for the tap root, placed seeds pointed end down in jiffy pellets, cover it somewhere between 1/8" and 1/4". A couple of the seeds I couldn't tell the pointed end which I placed on their sides (this has worked fine for me in the past, I think one of the ones that did sprout was put in on its side).