Networked PH / TDS / Temp monitor

I don't wanna connect it to a PC ..thats the issue. who in their right mind would put a laptop in a grow room 24/7. it would destroy the hard drive from the moisture/humidity alone.

as far as price ..i think a basic setup ..maybe temp monitor and water level monitor with a light timer should be less than 1500 dollars. I don't even care what it looks like as long as it works and i don't have to put a computer in a grow room...

not to mention .. a computer running 24/7 will add much heat as well.

Well a laptop running 24/7 will not generate that much heat believe me i work in a hospital and the PC's are on 24/7. As far as humidity I doubt that will have much of an effect on the laptop or whatever you would like to use. Moisture and condensation now your right about that and how it could effect a PC but then again there are laptops out there that can handle quite a bit of a beating. I dont see the hard drive being effected specifically the display in this setup is the most vulnerable because the parts are enclosed. Perhaps setting up a moisture proof box might resolve this? Just a thought Lol. USB is limited to about 20 feet, you could buy a Ultra slim PC mount it on the outside wall of the grow room with a monitor drill a hole for usb and bang. Better yet you could use firewire cable but them are expensive as well. Wirelessly I am not 100% sure how that would work for a security camera and the whole setup if that is even possible. USB 3.0 and Bluetooth 3.0 will become standard in the next two years hopefully so that may be possible. The 10/100/1000 Is the Ethernet speed for a wired connetion in MBPS (Mega bits per second) Wirelessly you cant get those speeds quite yet. 54MBPS and I believe Wireless N is the fastest Wifi out there. Bluetooth can achieve speeds faster but when remoting into your home network as long as you have a decent router convergence should not be an issue unless you have DSL or dial up which I doubt many have