New Grower - Autos and Soil

710Ninja

Hi guys!

This is my first grow, so I figured I would join up and try to learn a bit more!

I will be growing only AF's just to test the waters. I have a 4x8 tent with 2 1000w lights. I've got a portable AC unit to help with the heat and I have everything vented into my attic(running through a carbon filter).

Any advice on soil? I've searched around a bit and the general consensus seems to be "not burning the plant" lol. Can this be done with Fox Farm or Happy Frog? I have both and plan on mixing them with coco and perlite.

Also, how many AF plants would you guys recommend putting in the 4x8 tent?

Thanks in advance and feels good to finally be a member here!

It looks like a lot of people with more knowledge than me have come through here.. I am a beginner so take what I say with a grain of salt.

But I have used mushroom compost well for other plants and currently have one plant in it. It's very thick though so it'll need lots of mixing with your other stuff. I mean I have a ton of vermiculite mixed in, in addition to perlite and sphagnum moss. It's very rich, but as for being specifically good for mj, I don't know but I think its good stuff.

I would say the not burning the plant part is for your seeds/clones. I have always started seeds in reused dirt, and then transplanted into hotter stuff.

As a side note, people are always supposedly getting bugs from fox farm ocean forest.. But what do i know ive never bought the stuff.