Open Forum - Diatomaceous Earth - Let's go!

Fish4Fun420

I did a little bit of searching and saw some vague posts that mentioned it but after last nights discussion about mite problems and creepy crawly creatures I decided that I should find out the name I couldn't recall at the time when I mentioned "powdered glass" on BAR's Reps Game (which was awesome btw!). I have used DE myself but I knew very little about it, as I am not an expert I decided to use a few .gov and .edu sites, I referenced off each other and the facts seem to be solid. I should also add that these facts are based off of pure DE studies if you were to get it in a bag mixed with other chemicals there may be other side effects. Like making your weed taste like a dryer sheet, no one likes dryer sheet weed so look at the labels people. I'll start this shebang and from there let's talk about it. I had to look it up how to pronounce: DIE-A-TOE-MAY-SHUS :laughtwo::smokin:
:thumb:
DE1.jpg

What is DE? Diatomaceous Earth or DE for short is a large deposit of the fossilized remains of plankton and other aquatic remains. Sometimes DE is found on the surface in deserts but for the most part the deposits have to be mined to be extracted.

What does DE do? DE causes insects to dry out and die by absorbing the oils and fats from the cuticle of the insect's exoskeleton. "But Mr Fun" you might ask "Do mites have exoskeletons they are tiny!", yes little Jimmy they do! "But Mr Fun how long does it take them to die?", well Jimmy the bigger the bug the longer it'll take to perish. Studies show:: Bedbugs and smaller start to die within 24hrs, Beetles 7-21 days. Black ants within 24 hours and Red ants in only 16 hours.