Open House

Jim Finnel

Fallen Cannabis Warrior & Ex News Moderator
Some medical marijuana producers are tight-lipped about where they grow their cannabis.

Not Anthony Smith. He's offering public tours every Thursday night of his Belgrade greenhouse, Stone House Gardens.

For $20, whether you have a medical marijuana card or not, he'll show you the 60 or so cannabis plants -- some six feet tall -- in his rooftop garden.

He'll teach you how to tell the difference between male, female and hermaphrodite plants.

And, he'll demonstrate how to cut off a branch from a cannabis plant and clone it to produce another plant of the same strain.

"I want to do the opposite of what a lot of people are doing," Smith said. "They're hiding behind doors acting like they're doing something wrong. I think there needs to be more awareness."

Smith has started a sort of medical marijuana cooperative and alternative healing center at Stone House, located at 2265 Oro Lane.

A stonemason by trade, Smith, 39, got his license to provide medical marijuana a few months ago and opened Stone House to compensate for the masonry work he's lost in the recession.

Medical marijuana patients pay Smith to tend their plants, but they're also encouraged to come and check on their plants' progress and care for the plants themselves.

"They can just knock on the door and come on up," Smith said. "There's always someone here."

Smith charges $100 to grow six plants for a patient over the summer season. He estimates each patient will wind up with about six ounces of marijuana.

He also offers classes on growing. The classes are free for the patients he serves and $25 per session for members of the public.

The Stone House greenhouse is situated on the rooftop next to a large open deck with sweeping views of the Bridger Mountains.