Root Rot

SOxCAL

Hey everyone I'm new to growing and I have root rot. I was wondering if there's anything I can do to kill it. I'm in the fourth week of veg if that helps any.

myself i have had root-rot i grow in soil in containers, for me when i get it its because to much water not enough drainage in container, i seem to always get a couple of containers that just don't drain good enough i can always tell when i have it because the container starts to get very heavy & the plant stops growing, all i do is transplant and sure e-nuff when i pull the plant out of the container all the soil in the bottom half of the container is soaking wet. once i transplant the plant it always takes off & starts growing like crazzy when you take the plant out of your container just make sure to get rid of a lot of the wet soil around the root ball, and when your done easy on the water,
hope this helps l8ter.
rnwy29erclr

Here's some great advice from some person at EHow - they can sum it up better than I can:

You're not screwed, but you do need to act quickly in order to fix this problem.

How to Fix Root Rot

Root rot is a common problem in gardening that usually kills the plant. One plant with root rot can infect an entire planting bed, so it is important to identify and treat root rot quickly. Root rot is caused by harmful bacteria or fungi that attack and rot the roots of a plant, killing it. Typical symptoms of root rot in a plant include yellow leaves followed by rapid death of the plant. Prevent and help treat root rot quickly in just a few simple steps.

Things You'll Need:
Garden gloves
Gardening tools (spade, shovel)
Soil drainage material
Oven
Oven bag
Meat thermometer
Bucket
Water

. 1

Remove the affected plant from the plant pot and set aside. Remove all other plants from the soil, because it is contaminated and will need to be replaced. Set the plant with root rot aside, away from the other plants.
. 2